The Majority of eligible Members of the UK Parliament have recognized the Armenian Genocide

The current Early Day Motion (#287) contains a clause which states:: "This House….condemns unreservedly denial and denigration of the memory of the Holocaust, as well as of the 1915 Genocide of Armenians and Assyrians in Turkey, and the politics of hatred and division which led to these events" and also "….. and calls on hon. Members to respect Holocaust Memorial Day and to ensure that the Holocaust, the 1915 Genocide and modern atrocities such as the 1988 Anfal Genocide are never forgotten"

This UK-wide Recognition of Genocide follows the example of Welsh MPs in 2006, and 2007, and Scottish and Irish MPs a few weeks ago. Of the 349 Labour MPs (the ruling party), 225 are eligible and 150 (two third) have signed. The majority of all non-Conservative MPs have also signed the motion.

Armenia Solidarity Spokesman Eilian Williams said: ". The UK, and the other countries of the European Union must now accept that Turkey’s present borders are based on its succesful Genocide of its Armenian and Assyrian population. The issue of Armenian and Assyrian Churches and lands which were confiscated by the Turkish State in the 1923 "Law of Abandoned Properties" should be given a high priority, before any progress is made on Turkey’s accession to the E.U."

Source: Armradio

Site Footer